About Carl Brock

“The man who makes no mistakes
usually does not make anything.”

—Edward John Phelps, Speech (1889)

Carl B. Brock is currently serving a seventeen-year sentence in federal prison for the distribution of the chemical substance MDMA, or ecstasy.

Profile

Name: Carl Blake Brock
Nickname: Big Brock
Age: 30
Race: Caucasian
Sex: Male
Height: 6′-2″
Eyes: Hazel Green
Body Type: Large/Athletic
Hair: Dirty Blonde
Sexual Orientation: Straight
Married: Never
Relationship Status: Single
Children: None
Language: English

Education: Obtained paralegal diploma; pursuing bachelor’s degree in business

Favorite Books: As A Man Thinketh by James Allen; The Martian by Andy Weir; The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas; Monsoon by Wilbur Smith

Favorite Movies: Forrest Gump; The Vow; Fight Club; If I Stay; Dream House; Taken; Castaway; The Dark Knight; Limitless; Push; The Cable Guy

Favorite Music: Nickelback; Red Hot Chili Peppers; Eminem; Garth Brooks; Skillet; 3 Doors Down; 50 Cent; Adele; Alan Jackson; Audio Slave; Bad Company; Bush; Five Finger Death Punch; Kid Rock; Rehab; Savage Garden; South Park Mexican; Three Days Grace; Yelawolf; 2 Pac

My Journey To Prison

By the time I was 14 years old I was a regular resident at the local juvenile detention center for acting out in public school. The juvenile court sent me to all sorts of places for treatment, punishment, and evaluations. By the time I was 18 years old I had been to 2 boy’s homes, 4 mental institutions, 2 crises centers, 2 detention centers, 2 boot camps, 2 different alternative schools, rehab, and jail.

It was not long before I had graduated from conduct issues to criminal behavior. I started selling drugs and hanging out in dangerous places so I kept a pistol with me at all times. Eventually the federal drug task-force heard about me and set me up with a undercover agent to make sells to. In 2003 (at 18yrs old) I unknowingly sold the undercover agent MDMA pills (also know as “Ecstasy” or “XTC”) and a loaded pistol.

Subsequently, I was indicted and charged with distributing MDMA and carrying a firearm while doing so. The feds had all the evidence they needed to convict me with so I pled guilty to try and get a little less time than I was facing. The judge sentenced me to 17 years in federal prison (12 yrs for the MDMA and 5 yrs consecutive for the gun).

That’s the story in a nutshell. I will tell the long version in a future biography.

What I Am Doing Now

Carl's Paralegal CertificateRight now, in prison, I do a lot of reading and writing. I like to exercise, shoot basketball, watch movies, and learn new things. My favorite non-fiction to read is self-help, philosophy, political, etc. I read the Wall Street Journal daily, and love to read all science and nature magazines. As far as fiction goes, I like to read adventure, historical fiction, and thrillers mostly.

Currently, I am working on obtaining a degree in business from a community college out here in California near where I am doing time. And I am in the process of getting three more of my books published: “The Seven Ways to Overcome the Federal Statute of Limitations” (legal); “The Underground Credit Builder’s Handbook” (finance); and, “Chains and Things” (poetry and essays). For strategic marketing purposes, I am publishing the first two under the pseudonym “Fourth Dimension.”

Really, I like to stay busy. It makes the time go by faster. Prison sucks, but I try to make the best out of it. My new hobby is leather craft, and I am not yet sure as to how well I will do with it, I’ll let you know. I figure that it is worth trying to learn in my spare time.

Carl's course transcriptThe bottom line is that I came in at 18 yrs old, so I work hard so I can have some positive things to show for all the time I have done once I get out. My objective is to make sure that I never have to experience prison again.

Example Of My Daily Routine

I don’t get up as early as some people in here. Usually around 5:45am, though my alarm is actually set for 6:30am, we have sliding doors on our cells that clang open at 5:45, so I usually wake up earlier than I’d like to. Once awake, I get out of bed, wash up, drink a tall cup of cold water, get dressed, get my shoes on and head out the cell. I make a cup of black coffee (no sugar), and check the computer for emails (we have limited access to text-only emails) while listening to the morning news. I then go back and clean my cell, make my bed and get anything in order that needs to be. Next I go and do my job (I am a unit orderly, my job is sweeping the dayroom).

At 8:00am I go to the gym and I do my stretching, abs work, stair-master/elliptical/treadmill, etc. Then, if we have enough people willing to, we will shoot a game or two of basketball. Sometimes I will go outside and jog a couple miles around the outdoor track.

At 10:00am I go back to my housing unit, take a shower, eat something light, and wait around for lunch. Usually I will read a magazine or respond to some emails around this time. Then when lunch is called I will go eat then go from the chow hall to the library. At the library I will either work on my manuscripts, study for college, or do legal work. I come back to my housing unit at 3:30pm, do my job again (more sweeping), and check and see if I have any mail. I don’t get many letters, so usually I will get my newspaper (Wall Street Journal) and sometimes something from the college or a magazine. Then I will go back to my cell for lockdown and 4:00pm stand-up count. I will then read my newspaper and sometimes take a short nap. This lockdown usually last about an hour.

So at 5:00pm we get let back out of our cells. Depending on what I have to do, I will either go back to the library or watch some TV. Now I am going out to the hobby shop in the evenings and learning to leather craft, so I try to fit that in my schedule a few times a week. I also like to try to call home a few times a week, but I have to call early because my family is three time zones ahead of me and I don’t want to call too late and wake them up.

At 10:00pm we lockdown for the night. They will count us again, and then I will usually read some fiction. I typically don’t read fiction during the day. I like to wait until 10:00pm lockdown so that I can read when it is quiet. Prison is a noisy place and it is hard to enjoy a good book when you can’t read it in peace. Depending on how much I am into the book is how late I will stay up. Mostly I wash up and am asleep around 11:30pm. But, some books have kept me up all night and I regretted it in the morning…